Erasmus break in Stokholm, Sweden

I went to Sweden 2 years ago to do my Erasmus back there. Sweden was quite of a dream for me, I always wanted to go to Scandinavia and so when I had the opportunity to go there for my studies, I took this opportunity.

I lived in a small city north from Uppsala called Falun. However I’m going to talk about the capital city of Sweden: Stockholm. So far it’s my favorite capital! What is great about Stockholm is that it is a sort of archipelago, you have water everywhere and it’s very clean! You can have a look at it and you won’t find any trashes inside. The other positive aspect of Stockholm is that the city is “small” you can basically walk everywhere and avoid the subway (which is expensive, because let’s admit it, Sweden is bloody expensive especially alcohol!). So when I was in Stockholm I’ve never been in the subway BUT you should give a look over there, the walls inside are painted and are beautiful. Now, what shall you do in Stockholm? Well, my favorite part was Gamla Stan (the old town) a little island with paved streets and little cute shops (this little island was the heart of Stockholm in the early days). You can have a nice walk everywhere in this island; however beware of the tourists in summer, since the streets are really narrow you can barely walk there. Another great thing I’ve found in Gamla Stan is Aifur; a Viking restaurant where you can drink mead, eat a Viking meal on a large wooden table, listening to live music. The food/drinks are quite expensive but are delicious (they even have a vegetarian/vegan option) and the atmosphere there is incredible. You won’t find anything similar elsewhere. (If you don’t want to wait too long at the entrance you should book it before coming!).

What you can also do is going to the castle and watch the changing of the guard (not as impressive as the British one but still nice to see)

Stockholm has a lot of museum as well; the most famous could the vasamuseet: where you can visit a ship. You will find it in Djugården. In this island you can have a nice walk as well if the weather allows it or just go to ABBA’s museum (no kidding it exists). If you’re in a party mood I’m sure you will find plenty of places to go but be careful because most of the club won’t allow you do go in if you’re under 20 (which was my case when I was there so I cannot give any advices regarding clubs). Same for alcohol! In Sweden you can only buy alcohol in a shop called Systembolaget, there you will find plenty of alcohol but it’s quite expensive, and moreover if you are under 20 you won’t be able to buy anything from there (they control ID cards). However, somehow in some bars you can get any drinks you want although you’re younger than 20 (I still don’t get it –anyway-). To conclude: if you have the chance to go to Stockholm, just take it!

By Lucile Rouet, from France

Leave a Reply

